Next:
Utah @  Oklahoma State
Fox

Alex Smith first to be inducted into the ring of honor

Welcome Forums Utah Utes Sports Football Alex Smith first to be inducted into the ring of honor

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      ProudUte
      Participant

Ring of honor

Couldn’t happen to a better man. Quote from Alex:

“Utah football has always been and will always be a part of my family and I, and having the honor to be a permanent part of Rice-Eccles Stadium is something I will cherish for the rest of my life,” Smith said in a statement. “A Utah Man Am I forever.”

He is a great advocate for Utah football.

Tony (admin)
      Keymaster

Love it.

NashvilleUte
      Participant

Great read! So many memories from 2004!

The Fiesta Bowl year was my last year at the U before I graduated. That last year, I attended all the home games and two of the road games (Utah State & SDSU) as well as the Fiesta Bowl. Those were the early days of the MUSS too and was a lot of fun. Traveling on the MUSS Bus to the both the SDSU game as well as to the Fiesta Bowl were both epic. Afterwards I cheered for whatever team Alex Smith played on.

Since then, I’ve remained mostly a Chiefs fan partly because of Andy Reid and partly because I have a lot of respect for Patrick Mahomes for continually giving Alex a lot of credit towards his success. It says a lot about Alex that he mentored his replacement so well, but says more about Mahomes that he recognizes that as a contributing factor to his success and to his Super Bowl titles.