Utah @  Oklahoma State
Fox

Coach Ludwig and technology

Welcome Forums Utah Utes Sports Football Coach Ludwig and technology

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      ProudUte
      Participant

First let me say that I have been a big fan of coach Ludwig. Most of Whitt’s successful seasons have been when Ludwig was here, i.e., 2008, 2019, 2021 and 2022.

On yesterday’s Fox broadcast they pointed out multiple times that Ludwig does not use a computer like most coordinators. Is refusing to use modern technology hurting us? I don’t know, but I know that businesses that delayed the use of technology have hurt the company. Many companies stayed away from the internet for way too long, and they paid the price.

I do not want this to be an attack on Ludwig, because I think we are lucky to have him. I am just asking a question. Could we be better if Ludwig embraced technology?

homer
      Participant

Interesting, especially since Utah uses analytics to look for trends of their opponents in all game phases.

I’ve read Utah goes to great lengths to avoid predictable offensive trends. One would think computers are an aide for that.

RoboUte
      Participant

If it works for him then whatever. I think it’s pretty known at this point that Ludwig is the only OC Whitt won’t run out of town in 18 months so if this is what it takes then so be it. The guy can use a typewriter and store his digital info on punched cards for all I care. There is literally no better option for us in the country.

1 2
      EagleMountainUte
      Participant

Brock HOOard and that other guy with glasses would be the last people I would listen to on how to manage or coach a team.

In fact I mute them and listen to 700. I had like a one second delay. Bill Oreilly was a little snippy with Mitchell yesterday btw.

Adopting new things can be a waste of time or too difficult for some people. I think if he isn’t using aerial replays of the defense on a tablet though Ludwig is pretty stupid.

Charlie