Fox

Team Talent Composite

Welcome Forums Utah Utes Sports Football Team Talent Composite

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      1 2
      2008 National Champ
      Participant

247 posted their 2024 Team Talent Composite. I’ve been tracking it since 2015 and if I would have been betting the money line just based on the talent rankings, I would have been way up. For instance, if someone has just taken the more talented team for home games in P5 v P5 matchups, they would have won 70% of their wagers regardless of the teams involved.

Just using the talent rankings x the historical win % based on home/road & more/less talented, this would be the order of finish for the Big-12 in 2024:

1. Arizona State
      2. Colorado
      3. Texas Christian
      4. Texas Tech
      5. Central Florida
      6. Baylor
      7. Kansas
      8. Utah
      9. Arizona
      10. West Virginia
      11. Cincinatti
      12. Oklahoma State
      13. Kansas State
      14. Houston
      15. Iowa State
      16. parochial school

I feel like there has to be a flaw in how transfers are rated since ASU and Colorado are the top rated teams with what seems like complete roster turnover.

cj13
      Participant

What’s crazy is USU has a 20% chance to beat Utah according to ESPN…

Tony (admin)
        Keymaster

Does that mean I can lay a pile of cash on the money line at 2 to 8 odds? 

22Ute22
        Participant

One thing I’ve wondered about FPI/SP+ or any other statistical modeling of CFB is how they account for Cam Rising and Brant Kuithe coming back. I don’t think they count as “returning production” since they didn’t play last season. I’m also a bit skeptical about PFF grading. They rated DJU 17th and Cam at 19, which is obviously a laughable ranking and no CFB fan in the country would pick DJU over Cam.

Charlie
      Participant